Cafe Mocha

News, Views & Opinion

On Reading.

with 3 comments

Have you read anything recently? By reading, I do not mean skimming through. I mean reading each and every word of the written piece before you. It means reading the pauses, the phrases, the sentences, the nuances and thus, the meaning of the piece.
 
It is a lot like reading a piece of verse. To appreciate poetry,you have to read it. Savour it. Digest it. Understand it. And maybe, live it for the brief while that you are reading it.
Read the beauty in a poem and you will know what I mean.
 
Today morning, I read one of Thomas Hardy’s poems. After a decade perhaps. Thomas Hardy is not exactly known for his poetry,but he wrote some. And wrote them beautifully.
 
The poem I read today is called ‘On Sturminster Foot-Bridge’. It’s an ‘onomatopeoic’ piece with a  beautiful combination of words.
 
Descriptive phrases like the ‘slack stream’s face’ or the ‘wind skims irritably’. The ‘current clucks’ and ‘midnight moans’. So vivid and unusual, they are woven together to describe the weaving of a river past the house of his lady love perhaps. 
 
As is obvious in the last two lines,and I quote,
 
"And beneath the roof is she who in the dark world shows
As a lattice gleam when midnight moans."
 
Read a  poem today. Start with Wordsworth, if you have never read poetry before.
 
Most of literature is written by poets who could not write verse and wrote prose instead.The rest of literature is pure poetry.
 
Just like our life, which is nothing but poetry in motion.
 

Written by Karuna

December 20, 2005 at 3:39 pm

Posted in Books

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So true so very true.I m reading Atlas Shrugged these days and sometimes I just get hung on certain words, phrases, sentences. I even fold those pages so that I can visit them again once I finish the book. As for poetry I havenot read any and now I find myself romancing verses so as to even penning them down. Soon I shall be reading poetry though prose I m !I agree Our life is poetry in motion..so beautiful.Come dropping by..I liked ur space.icy

    icy

    December 22, 2005 at 5:16 am

  2. I came to check out an update!write on Karuna!Have a great year 2006cheersicyP.S. Oh ! the mountains! Why didnt they suck me in? my heart laments

    icy

    January 1, 2006 at 2:43 pm

  3. this one from hardy s poetry jus fo u
    ………
    U DID NOT COME
    AND MARCHING TIME WENT ON AND WORE ME NUMB
    U LOVE NOT ME ,BUT LOVE CAN ONLY LET U LOYALTY
    TILL THE HOPE HOUR STROKE ITS SUM
    U DID NOT COME……………..
     
    n also \’\’your heart broken tess\’\’-from tess……..have cried reading this many times wen i was a teenager…….not that i dont now…. lol

    jaya

    February 17, 2006 at 3:23 pm


Leave a Reply

