Cafe Mocha

News, Views & Opinion

Of bag snatchers and police

leave a comment »

Is Mumbai becoming more unsafe or are people just hungrier? Poorer?
I wonder…they snatched my bag the other day, so I wonder. A repeat of 1999 – 13 years ago they had snatched my bag , from the train then. This time, they came on a bike, reached out into the auto and snatched it and fled. Except I was a bit sleepy and couldn’t hold onto it, and had I leaned out I would have crashed out.

Strangely enough they dumped it on the highway somewhere. A kind soul found my ID cards, with phone no, scattered near a bridge, where he had stopped and returned them including my driving licence, pan card, etc.  He called me and returned the cards.

But my belongings,a couple of momentos from uncles now dead, my wallet with pics of  near & dear ones, all just disappeared. Sure, it was 11 at night, when the idiots snatched my purse and I reached the police station at 11-30 pm to file a complaint. Here’s what the police suggested.

Police: If you want to file an FIR, it will take 2 hours. If they get caught, they will go to jail and be released in 2 days. They will come after you, harass you. Instead, file a missing complaint. I was too sleepy to reason that out. So, I filed a complaint instead.

Well, I am still in a state of shock. These guys are out there lose, roaring on bikes and preying on people. I traveled by the same road, at the same time,a few days later.I did not see any police patrol cars…the road patch was still dark.

Too late now, to go and reverse the complaint and file an FIR. The auto driver gave witness. The guy who found the cards is willing to help the police.  I doubt if the police will convert the complaint into an FIR. Why do police give such advice? I wonder.

Written by Karuna

November 10, 2012 at 7:59 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

